Week 5: Seasonal Egg Rolls

24 Jun

How come when we think of making egg rolls we automatically think “Oh, that is way to  complicated! I don’t know that I could pull that off tonight or ever for that matter.” At least I think that. Well, I did the unthinkable and I bought egg roll wrappers… Then they sat in the fridge for a couple of weeks. So the other day I decided it was high time to try my hand at making egg rolls.

This is not your typical Asian egg roll. They are my zucchini squash version. I hope this recipe inspires you to put all those vegetables you don’t know what to do with that are just sitting in your fridge into one yummy egg roll!

Here are a couple of tips that I learned when making egg rolls:

1: A food processor is your best friend in this recipe! A food processor will totally either make this recipe a keeper for you, or if you don’t, you might have to go to the doctor for carpal tunnel. I am pretty serious about this food processor thing! You will need one to have a positive experience with egg rolls.

2:  I tried making the filling two different ways. I didn’t know if it would be better to saute the mixture before filling the wrappers or to leave the filling raw. I really think I liked the cooked version better because the egg rolls are not fried very long and the texture of the sautéed veggies just seemed more like the typical egg rolls you get at restaurants. But do whatever suits your fancy.

3: I also didn’t have any fresh garlic or fresh ginger but if I did I would definitely always go with fresh!

4: I didn’t do this tip but thinking back on what I would do differently next time this is definitely the thing I would do….I would make sure to squeeze the juices from the vegetable mixture very well after being sautéed. This is to eliminate the mixture from becoming watery and making the wrappers become all sticky. If you decide to skip this step you will know what I mean afterwards. :)

When I cook I don’t use measurements. I do in baking. But there is something freeing about cooking you just do whatever you feel like. It is a lot harder to mess something up when cooking then when baking. So my apologizes for not having specific measurements for you on all the ingredients. Don’t be scared though. Have confidence. You can do it! And tomorrow is always a new day if you happen to dump the whole bottle of soy sauce in, not big deal!

Alaina’s Egg Rolls:

1 Package of egg roll wrappers – If I remember correctly I think it has 24 wrappers

2 Medium onions

1 Medium cabbage

4 Carrots

2 Zucchini

2 Squash

Soy sauce

Garlic powder

Ginger powder

Oil for frying

Assemble your food processor with the grate blade. Cut all vegetables into pieces that will fit in the processor. Grate vegetables and transfer to large bowl. Next add a very generous amount of garlic, a good amount of ginger and about 4 tablespoons of soy sauce. Mix together.

 

In a large skillet on Medium heat, add a little olive oil and heat. When oil is hot, add the vegetables and saute for about 4 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, squeeze out juices and transfer to a different bowl.

 

Next, working with one wrapper at a time place the square on the counter with a point facing you, making it look more like a diamond. Next, take 1 heaping tablespoon in the middle of wrapper. Take the corner closest to you and pull up over the filling.

 

Then pull in each side. Make sure it is pretty snug.

 

 

Take the remaining top corner and brush a tad bit of water on it, then pull down to complete your roll. Continue until all the wrappers are used.

In a skillet over medium high heat, heat the oil til nice and hot. I like to take a drop of water and flick into the oil. If it sputters it is ready and hot.!(Caution: you DO NOT want to use any more than a drop or you could get severely burnt.) Fry the rolls till golden brown. Turning them as needed with tongs. Once they are done, place on a pan covered with a paper towel to soak up some of the extra oil.

 

Serve with your choice of side. Enjoy! (I am glad to say I took all the photos!)

 

8 Responses to “Week 5: Seasonal Egg Rolls”

  1. Needle and Fork June 25, 2012 at 1:43 #

    wow the filling looks awesome! We must try this recipe!!

    https://www.facebook.com/NeedleandFork

  2. Scholar Mel June 25, 2012 at 1:43 #

    Reblogged this on 1 Million Reblogs.

  3. Ariel June 25, 2012 at 1:43 #

    Looks Great!! 1 tip- if you put a wooden spoon in your hot oil and it bubbles nicely around the spoon, the temp is just right. That way you don’t have to flick the water drop and possibly get burnt.

  4. Fav sis June 25, 2012 at 1:43 #

    :) Good grief these look amazing!! I have squash and zucchini in my fridge…just sitting. :) I should try this!! Joel would love them! :) O, and why do you always post some yummy recipe when i’m the most starving!! :(

    • cooksinglive June 25, 2012 at 1:43 #

      Thanks sis! Let me know what Joel thinks. You need to bring more food to work. Soon you will disappear.:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

