Pesto

3 Jul

If you know me you know that I am in love with basil pesto. Why I haven’t posted a pesto recipe yet is beyond me. If you have never had pesto you are in for a treat! I use pesto like some people use ketchup. I put in in my eggs, I put it on my pasta, I put it on my pizza, I put it on my sandwiches, I put it on my chicken, I put it on my croutons, I put it on my baked potatoes, and I put it on my hotdogs. Ok, not really on my hotdogs, though it might be great!

Anyway, homemade pesto is a staple in my kitchen. I love it! This time of year basil is abundant! If you are not growing it you should be able to find loads at your local farmers market.

Most people use pine nuts in their pesto but walnuts work just as well. I use whatever I have on hand.

Remember, I like garlic. If you are not a garlic freak start out with 3 cloves. You can always add more.

Basil Pesto

2 packed cups of basil leaves

1/3 cup of pine nuts or walnuts

4-5 cloves of garlic

1/2-3/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup of parmesan cheese

salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Add basil, nuts, and garlic to food processor and pulse till coarsely chopped. (If using whole walnuts pulse in food processor a few times before adding the basil.) Next while food processor is running, slowly pour olive oil in a steady stream into the basil mixture. Add as much oil till you get desired consistency. I like mine thick for some things and thinner for other things. Add the cheese and pulse a few more times. Add salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.

Note: pesto freezes great! Just omit the cheese and add before serving. When I worked for Felicia Suzanne’s restaurant we used to freeze the pesto in little 2 cup containers. I still do that to this day. I know some people use ice trays but I think that takes a lot of extra work.

I will post a pictures soon!

One Response to “Pesto”

  1. Faith Dickerson July 10, 2012 at 1:43 #

    Sounds Yummy!!! It’s great to live in a place where you can get 2 cups of basil!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

