3 layer Vertical Layer Cake

28 Mar

Ok, so I know my title is a little confusing. Just hang in there and hopefully I can show you want I mean.

I was asked to make a wedding cake for a friend about a week before she wanted it. Just in case you didn’t know, that is very late to start thinking about a wedding cake. I wasn’t really sure what to do. As I stood in a massively long line with my sister waiting to purchase 1 item. I stood there waiting… I was thinking about the wedding cake. The theme of the party was a mexican feista so I knew I wanted it to be fun and colorful. Then it came to me…I knew what I would do. I would make a cake that has vertical layers instead of horizontal layers within each layer.

I don’t know why I make things harder on my self seeing as the wedding was in a week and I had never even heard of a vertical layer cake nonetheless made one myself. So I got home and googled vertical layer cake I came to this wonderful site which was a life saver. This all took place Saturday.  http://iammommy.typepad.com/i_am_baker/2011/02/vertical-layer-cake-tutororial.html.> Now I still didn’t know how it would work stacking them on top of each other but I have this nack for making things hard on myself instead of easier. I just knew how I wanted it to turn out and then I went from there. My friend wanted red velvet cake and I decided on a vanilla cake for contrast in flavor and color. The frosting was a no brainer. It had to be cream cheese icing.

Tuesday I headed to Jackson to for all the ingredients and accessories I would need. Next, I headed down to our local library where I could check cake pans out. I wanted to do a 3 layer round cake. Seeing that the round cake pans were rented out I had to switch directions and ended up with heart pans. I worked again on Wednesday so Thursday I went grocery shopping for our house and then came home to start baking the cakes. I got half of the cakes baked before I had to go to a meeting.

Friday came too soon and I still had so much to do. So I got all the cakes made and in the freezer, Next  I went to work on the icing. I made 5 batches of it and ended up using only about 3 batches. After the cakes were frozen I took them out and my awesome roommate (who is moving out in less than a month due to some guy steeling her heart. I guess he is more important than me. 🙂 ) came down with some water for me and helped me cut the cakes. It was definitely a chore and I am so glad I had her brain. We stuck the cakes back in the freezer to help them meld together.

I wish I had pictures to show you the process but I pretty much followed I Am Mommy’s directions except a for a few things. It was a huge help having those pictures. If I started to explain it here It might make your brain shut down. I really don’t even know how to explain it unless I had pictures which I don’t have due to it being such a last minute project and not having time.

After waiting a bit I started icing the cakes and my other most wonderful best  friend Amy (her blog http://rcvhighlander.wordpress.com/)  came to help me with the decorating part. She is amazing an artist who is like super busy. So when I can get her help I never worry about how it will turn out. Although it might be a bit late. 🙂  All I have to do is tell Amy what I want it to look like and she helps me turn the plain white cake into a masterpiece. I had a picture I found on the internet of some embroidery on the yolk of a dress that I wanted to make the cake look like. She is so much more artistic than I am and as long as she puts her tip down first I can manage to get mine on there too.

I was really happy how it turned out. Whenever I am with Amy we always have the best time. We have known each other so long that we don’t even remember meeting. I guess we were only 3. I am so grateful that I am surrounded by the best people on the face of the planet.

Anyways, it was a lot of work but also a total blast! The only part I don’t really like is the cleaning everything up.

I did get a few pictures taken while we were decorating  the cake and the finished product.

Here they are…

2 Responses to “3 layer Vertical Layer Cake”

  1. Eric March 28, 2011 at 1:43 #

    You said:

    “Next, I headed down to our local library where I could check cake pans out.”

    What???? What kind of magical library has cake pans??????? What else do they have!

    • Kae L. May 4, 2012 at 1:43 #

      yeah, no kidding! I want to live in the magical land where libraries lend out cake pans!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

