Living Life on Purpose

30 Mar

I know this is a food blog but I have thought a lot lately about what it means to live life on purpose and I wanted to share a little with you.

My days almost always looks the same. I have a routine that I do each day and I am comfortable with it. There are a couple of curve balls I get thrown but I mostly catch them and keep going. I get so busy sometimes and don’t ever have time to stop and think about what I am doing. I watched the clip of Rob Bell’s Shells movie and what got me thinking the most is “What have I said Yes to, so that I can say No to other things.” I have a hard time saying no to people. If someone asks me to do something rarely do I say no. So then my schedule is booked. Even if it is good Christian busyness, if that’s not what God wants me to do than why am I still doing it?

Still I do the same things over and over with little variety. Sometimes I expect different results or I want to change and be different

Rarely do I actually do something that is different.

I want to live each day with a purpose. I want to make a difference in this world. I don’t want to be so busy that I can’t take time to think about what I am doing. I want to wake up every day knowing that what I am doing that day is exactly what God wants me to do. Then not fill up what is free time with unnecessary things that only distract me from doing God’s purpose.

That means…I need to know what God wants me to do.

That means… Talking to Him

That means… Listening to Him

That means… Saying Yes

That means… Saying NO

More often than not I know what God wants me to do. The hardest part is to do it. Once I do it though, I have joy beyond any understanding.

When I think of living life on purpose I think of waking every day with a vision for something different that day. Something exciting that we get to do for God and for everyone around us. If I wake up with God’s purpose for my life and I live it that day than I am happy. Which inevitably makes everyone else around me. And… Happiness is contagious!!! Take it day by day. You will fail at it. I do it all the time. Just go to bed asking God to give you the grace to do His will tomorrow. Then wake up and know that His mercies are new everyday and He loves you beyond measure and wants the best for you. Then go and do…

2 Responses to “Living Life on Purpose”

  1. Mamica March 31, 2011 at 1:43 #

    Dearest Alaina,
    Very sweet blog. It encourages me to do the same. We Hartles are known for our routines(ruts). We need to be set free to flow in His River of Life!! Let’s keep encouraging each other.
    Love, Mamica

  2. transientglory April 14, 2011 at 1:43 #

    Good thoughts. I need to watch that Rob Bell video. The idea of making sure I’ve said “yes” to something so that I can say “no” to other things is important. Otherwise, I’ll end up getting my heart off of God’s purposes for me.

Leave a Reply

