Week 2: I Am An Artist!

30 May

Garden vegetable Pie
Think of yourself as an artist and you have a blank canvas in front of you begging you to make it into a great work of art. This is how I came up with this recipe. I had all these lush, fresh ingredients waiting for me to use them. Just lying there, waiting for whatever fate I desired for them. I went to my art box (the refrigerator) to see what else was beckoning me to be put to use. I pulled out some leftover phyllo dough,and some mozzarella cheese, and some ricotta. It was like all the ingredients whispered that they wanted to be made into a lovely summer tart. I hardly knew what I was doing.

Layers  of phyllo dough brushed with olive oil were spread on the pan.

Next the ricotta, mozzarella, fresh garlic, and Mr. and Mrs. S& P were blended together and then gently spread on top the phyllo dough.

Then the swiss chard, tomatoes, zucchini, squash, basil, and leek leaves were all being sliced very thinly sprinkles with more Mr. and Mrs. S & P and layered starting from the outside working in. I wanted it all to look very symmetrical, but the very nature of all my vegetables were not so willing. So, thanks to my vegetables  they opened up my eyes and I ended up with a more artistic look.

Next comes the final touch-ups… the veggies brushed with olive oil.

Then picture-taking time. My Friend and housemate Ashley Tyler helped me capture its beauty. She really is a great photographer!

After that, I put it in the oven at 400* F. for about 40 minutes in the lower half of the oven.

Funny side note: I was leaving for volleyball right as I was pulling it out of the oven so I actually didn’t get to taste it till the next day. I tried heating it in the broiler and decided that was not a good way. 🙂 It ended up being really good! You can’t go wrong with phyllo dough, cheese and all the vegetables you can get your hands on.

I know I didn’t give you a hard and fast recipe. But life is short! Take a risk! What is calling for you? Go have fun creating your own masterpiece! Remember, you, you are an artist! Don’t forget to come back here and tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

