Blueberry Raspberry Scones

18 Nov

adapted from Joy of Baking  Blueberry streusel scones

These are the some scones that I made for a ladies meeting on Thursday.

They are really yummy. As I write about them I can almost smell them:)

4 cups of Praire Gold flour

1/3 cup of raw sugar

4 teaspoons of baking pwd.

1/4 teaspoon of salt

12 tablespoons of butter

2 eggs

1 1/4 cups of half and half

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup of blureberries

1 cup of raspberries

First of all preheat oven to 350 F.  Mix in together dry ingredientsnext cut up butter into small pieces. I like to think of pea size.

Add to  dry ingredients and incorporate in the flour mixture. The butter should become apart of the flour if you know what i mean.  

Put all the wet ingredients in a separate bowlGive it a little wisk.

Now gently add the raspberries and blueberries to the dry ingredients stir just till combined

Now add the wet ingredients to dry. Stir VERY little. Like 7 times. The tricky part about making scones is that if you mix them too much you will get hard hocky pucks.Now sprinkle counter with flour and divide half of the dough and put on counter. Make sure to flour you hands and pat into a circle about 3/4 inch thick.

Now cut into 8 triangles. It is like cutting a pie.

Now cover you pan with parchment paper and spray. This is a necessary step. Last time I didn’t and it stuck to the paper. The only reason I put the paper over the pan is for cleaning purposes. Gently slide a spatula under one triangle and place on pan. Put all on the pan. I like to place them about an inch apart. I like the outside to be crunchy and the inside soft. If you want the sides soft then just place them closer together.

Put in oven and bake for about 15 to 20 minutes.

While first batch is baking you can go ahead and prepare second batch of batter. Scones are not hard to make and there seems to be a myth that they are only for tea drinkers. I would like to dispel that. It is not true at all. Everyone loves them! I make them for breakfast on regular occasions. I hope you enjoy them.

5 Responses to “Blueberry Raspberry Scones”

  1. AJ November 20, 2009 at 1:43 #

    hey sis, just checked out ur blog for the first time in about a week and i love how u documented the way to make scones!! u r doing a really great job on ur blog!! luv ya!

  2. Rushie December 2, 2009 at 1:43 #

    Yeah!! I wanted that recipe, thanks for posting. Those were the best scones I’ve ever had!!!

  3. Rushie December 16, 2009 at 1:43 #

    Hey…I made the scones the other day and there was a couple things I wanted to suggest you put in your directions. One is you should specify if the fruit is frozen or not. I figured it was by the pictures but wasn’t totally sure. Also when you spread the batter out in a circle you should say how thick or thin it should be before cutting. 🙂 Other then that your directions were very easy to follow and the pictures were great!! Thanks….Rushie

  4. Hashachar July 26, 2010 at 1:43 #

    I loved finding your blog, Alaina! As I scrolled through the recipe and pictures, I can’t wait to show it to Hadashah and have her make them. Please, keep it up. I’m excited that my girls can “bake with Alaina!” Of course, a video would be even better, but not as reliable, with weak internet connections. And, then, of course, there’d be “baking with Alaina LIVE” that would be the absolute best. 🙂 But, in the meantime, getting awesome recipes off your blog is something I think the girls will really like to do!
    How about dinner recipes too! I’m always suggesting Anna go out and get new ideas……:) And, remember, I want another loaf of the cinnamon bread next time you bake bread….

Leave a comment